Searching Spaces

One of the apparent limitations of Windows Live Spaces is the difficulty of tracking down topics that I’ve written about in my blog. You know the sort of thing: I remember writing about the BBC’s series of The Apprentice, but I can’t for the life of me remember when… Using Google or Windows Live Search returns millions of results, so how to narrow it down?
 
Well, of course, it turns out that it’s relatively straightforward, if you know how.
 
Google does have a blog search, and using the Advanced settings, it’s possible to narrow down the search to just my blog entries. That screen will build the search query for you using Google’s query syntax. So, the Advanced settings screen builds the query: "apprentice" blogurl:gcoupe.spaces.live.com.
 
Windows Live Search has a similar capability, in fact their Advanced settings screen has more options to tune the search than Google does. Once again, using the Advanced Settings screen will build the query:  apprentice site:gcoupe.spaces.live.com. You’ll notice that Microsoft’s query syntax is not the same as Google. Standards, doncha just love them? Rob has more about the Microsoft query syntax over at The Space Craft.
 
One interesting thing about searching for the word "apprentice" in my blog: Windows Live Search finds all three instances; Google only finds two…

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Searching Spaces

  1. Michael says:

    Note Google’s advanced search options (http://www.google.co.uk/intl/en/help/operators.html), which include the site: keywork.  Apparently the blogurl: keyword is unique to their blog search itself, which I suspect is based off of their RSS reader engine rather than the proper search engine – interesting to see if they integrate the two.

  2. Geoff says:

    Thanks, Mike. But interestingly, I then used the site: operator to construct my search query apprentice site:gcoupe.spaces.live.com. This turns out to be the same search string that I used with Windows Live Search.  And this time, Google returns no results at all… Dunno what’s going on, but it proves that you shouldn’t trust technology…

Leave a Reply

