A Time There Was…

I’ve just finished reading John Bridcut’s biography of Benjamin Britten: Britten’s Children.
 
Simply superb!
 
I have a nodding acquaintance with various parts of Britten’s work: Serenade, Prince of the Pagodas, Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra, etc. Now, after reading this book I want to go back and listen with revitalised ears and to explore the rest of his music. Particularly Noyes Fludde, Death in Venice  and the Turn of the Screw.

About Geoff Coupe

I'm a British citizen, although I have lived and worked in the Netherlands since 1983. I came here on a three year assignment, but fell in love with the country, and one Dutchman in particular, and so have stayed here ever since. On the 13th December 2006 I also became a Dutch citizen.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Time There Was…

  1. robert says:

    I steered clear of Turn of the Screw after reading the Carpenter biog of Britten – it felt a bit close to the bone – but I do intend to read the Bridcut work sometime and I have recently acquired  Daniel Harding conducting TotS and sometime when I’m in the right mood I shall try it again. I remember listening to it back in the 70′s with a piano score from the library back when public libraries had good music sections. I do recommend Death in Venice though – and probably also Midsummer Nights Dream adds an angle to this aspect of Britten’s character.

  2. Geoff says:

    I see that Amazon are still charging full whack for the old Decca recordings of DiV and TotS. Hmm. I think I’ll try the Naxos reissue of the Bedford recording of TotS first, coupled with the Decca budget price Noye’s Fludde for light relief. Owen Brannigan as the Voice of God – now there’s a temptation!

  3. Geoff says:

    Whoops – now that I’ve got the CD of Noye’s Fludde, I see Owen is Noye, not God. Oh well – it’s still a great CD!

Leave a Reply

